College Scholarships

The College of Science Dean's Office coordinates many scholarships. For more information on these and other scholarships, click on the links below.

Printable College of Science scholarship summary sheet

Departmental Scholarships

Some departments in the College also award scholarships to students with specific majors.

University Scholarships

Eastern offers a variety of awards to outstanding students who demonstrate the potential for superior academic performance. You can visit the EKU Academic Scholarship Program to find out about these opportunities.

Booth Scholarship Program for Math and Science

The Booth Scholars Program, established by Mr. and Mrs. Gary Booth, is one that is intended to aid and help foster the undergraduate educational experience of students from the Eastern Kentucky University service region who are majoring in Science or Mathematics.

Recipients are chosen by a committee chaired by the Dean of the College of Science and comprised of the departmental Chairs or their nominees. All students wishing to apply for the Booth Scholarship for math and Science, must complete and submit the following materials to Jennifer Miller in the College of Science (Science 1232) by March 1st:

  • Scholarship Application;
  • Statement of Intent describing your plans for your major and career, including goals and achievements. This should be in essay format describing your intent to pursue a career in one of the previously listed academic areas;
  • A letter of recommendation/nomination from the Chair of your Department or from another faculty, endorsed by the chair;
  • A second letter of recommendation from a faculty member in your major department who is not the Chair of your Department;

  • A copy of your academic transcript (unofficial printed from EKU Direct is acceptable).


  • Must be enrolled as a full-time student in good academic standing;
  • Must have completed your freshman year in college;
  •  Must have a declared major within the following departments: Mathematics and Statistics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences, Physics and Astronomy, and Computer Sciences.
  •  Students who have declared their major in Pre-Medical Sciences are ineligible to apply.
  • Must be a resident of one of the following counties: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Harlan, Jackson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Letcher, Leslie, Madison, Magoffin, McCreary, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Whitley, and Wolfe.
  • The student should have the intent, and capability, as determined by the department head and dean, to pursue a graduate degree or become certified to teach science or math.
  • The student should demonstrate financial need via FAFSA.


  • Must have completion of at least 24 credit hours per academic year;
  • Completion of an application and statement of intent each award period;
  • Continued a major in math or science field listed above;
  • Agree to meet with Donors a minimum of once a year for mentoring;
  • Interview with the scholarship committee.

Meredith J. Cox Scholarship Fund

Meredith James Cox was served as a professor of Chemistry at EKU from 1924-1965.  Professor Cox actively served both his institution and his community. Aside from teaching a variety of general science and chemistry courses, he was the major force in the college's pre-medical program. Ten years a sponsor for the pre-medical students' Caduceus Club, he also served as an advisor for the rural medical interests.  This scholarship fund is for students who are majoring in a pre-medical field.

All students wishing to apply for the Meredith J. Cox Scholarship, must complete and submit the following materials to Jennifer Miller in the College of Science (Science 1232) by March 1st:


  • Must be an EKU student majoring in the premedical field as evidenced by your degree program;
  • Must have sophomore or junior standing;
  • 3.0 minimum cumulative GPA;
  • Extra-curricular activities and demonstrated need via FAFSA will also be considered.


  • Not renewable

The Clarence H. Gifford Scholarship in Sciences

All students wishing to apply for the Clarence H. Gifford Scholarship in Sciences, must complete and submit the following materials to Jennifer Miller in the College of Science (Science 1232) by March 1st:

  • Scholarship Application;
  • One letter of recommendation;
  • A two page letter of consideration describing your interest and plan to use science education within your career.


  • Must be a full-time undergraduate EKU student;
  • Must be majoring in Biology, Chemistry, Geology, or Physics;
  • Must be a resident of Kentucky;
  • Must be a graduate of a high school in Kentucky;
  • Must have completed one science course during freshmen year;
  • Must demonstrate need via FAFSA.


  • May be renewed